TechGH24 CEO wins Outstanding Contribution to ICT Reporting at GITTAs 2021


CEO of and multiple award-winning tech journalist, Samuel Dowuona was honored at this year’s Ghana Information Technology and Telecoms Awards (GITTA) for his “Outstanding Contribution to ICT Reporting”. 

This was the 11th edition of the GITTAs and Sammy Dowuona was the first ever journalist to have been honored at the prestigious industry awards.

CEO of Instinct Wave, organizers of the GITTAs, Akin Naphtal cited Sammy’s consistency in supporting the tech industry with educative and inciteful articles for more than a decade as the reason for selecting him for honors this year.

He disclosed that by close of year, Instinct Wave will hold a separate awards scheme specifically for journalists contributing consistently to ICT industry in Ghana and beyond.

Over 50 awards were given to organizations and individuals for their contributions towards Ghana and Africa’s digital transformation.

This year’s awards was special, because it was a two-in-one affair – comprising of awards under GITTA categories and a separate set of awards under the Africa Digital Economy Awards.

The big winners for the night were MTN with seven awards, and Vodafone with five awards. AirtelTigo managed to walk away with one award.

Whereas MTN Ghana CEO, Selorm Adadevoh emerged the Telecom CEO of the Year, Vodafone Ghana’s CEO walked away as the proud Industry Personality of the Year.

Of particular note were two customer services related awards, all of which went to MTN -Customer Experience, Customer Service Team of the Year.

Below are majority of the awards won on the night.

  1. Cybersecurity Company of the Year – Cybertech

2. Mobile Data Company of the Year – MTN

3. Enterprise Service of the Year – Comsys

5. Cybercrime Company of the Year – Ecrime Bureaus

6. Wholesale Infrastructure Provider of the Year – C-squared (Google)

7. Unified Communications Provider of the Year – Vodafone

8. Wireless Infrastructure Provider of the Year – ATC

9. Customer Experience of the Year – MTN

10. Promoting Public Sector Digital Inclusion – Ascend Digital Solutions

11. Payment System Innovation of the Year – GHQR- GhIPSS

12. Best Use of ICT in Driving Efficiency – DVLA

13. Metro Fibre Infrastructure Company of the Year – Comsys

14. Excellence in ICT for Sustainable Development – GIFEC

15. Telecom Support Company of the Year – ATC

16. Innovative Card Product – Eazypay GH Dual Card (Zenith Bank)

17. FinTech Company of the Year – Zeepay

18. Mobile Money Leadership – MTN MoMo

19. Smartphone Brand of the Year – Tecno

20. ISP of the Year – Comsys

21. Business Transformation Company of the Year – Cloudware

22. Telecom Business Service Provider of the Year – Vodafone

23. Digital Bank of the Year – Standard Chartered

24. Best ATM and Kiosk Implementation – Absa

25. Innovative Product – Vodafone Cash 

26. Excellence in Cybersecurity Initiatives – Cybersecurity Authority

27. Mobile Banking App of the Year – SC Mobile

28. Excellence in Social Investment – MTN

29. Phone Distributor of the Year – Mobile Zone

30. Best Bank for Financial Inclusion – Zenith Bank

31. Innovative E-payment Solutions Provider of the Year – Global Accelerex Ghana

32. ICT manage service company – Liranz

33. Innovative Data Centre Provider – Africa Data Center (ADC)

34. Africa Infrastructure Company of the Year – IHS

35. Excellence in Driving Digital Transformation – Huawei

36. Digital Transformation Provider of the Year – Reliance Infosystem

37. Network Operations Team of the Year – MTN

38. Digital Transformation Team – Vodafone

39. Customer Service Team – MTN

40. Telecom Tower Hall of Fame – ATC

41. Bespoke Data Product of the Year – AirtelTigo

42. Outstanding Contribution to ICT Reporting – Samuel Dowuona

43. Outstanding Contribution to Mobile Industry – Maxwell Takyi (Mobile Zone CEO)

44. IT Professional of the Year – Ebo Richardson

45. FinTech CEO of the Year – Andrew Takyi Appiah (Zeepay)

46. Industry Personality of the Year – Patricia Obo-Nai, Vodafone CEO

47. Telecom CEO of the Year – Selorm Adadevoh, MTN

48. Digital Transformation Leader – Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Minister of Communications and Digitalization

This list will be updated…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here